Opie Prize

The Iona and Peter Opie Prize is awarded approximately every two years to the author of the best recently published scholarly book on children’s folklore. The next Opie Prize will be awarded in 2018. The deadline to receive books for consideration is September 1, 2018. The chairs of the Opie Prize Committee are John McDowell at Indiana University and Elizabeth Tucker at the Binghamton University.

Please submit books for consideration to the chairs of the Opie Prize Committee:

  • John McDowell, Folklore Institute, Indiana University, Classroom Office Building, 800 E. 3rd St, Bloomington IN 47405
  • Elizabeth Tucker, 500 Magnolia Drive, Vestal NY 13850

The winner of the 2016 Opie Prize is Children’s Games in the New Media Age: Childlore, Media and the Playground, edited by Andrew Burn and Chris Richards (Ashgate, 2014).

2012 Opie Prize were Kathryn Marsh, The Musical Playground: Global Traditions and Change in Children’s Songs and Games (New York: Oxford University Press, 2008), and Anna R. Beresin, Recess Battles: Play, Fighting, and Storytelling (Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2010). Honorable Mention went to Carla Pascoe, Spaces Imagined, Places Remembered: Childhood in 1950s Australia (Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2011), Steve Roud, The Lore of the Playground: One Hundred Years of Children’s Games, Rhymes and Traditions (London: Random House, 2010), and Elizabeth Tucker, Children’s Folklore: A Handbook (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2008).